Expedition: Silk Road

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bukhara, Uzbekistan.  One of the many rich stops along the ancient Silk Road.

It is coming…  Perhaps not soon, but it is coming…  Ladies and gentlemen!  Welcome to my greatest dream and proudest idea I have ever come up with!  Let’s see if we can’t make this happen!  This is Expedition: Runaway’s new project: ‘Expedition: Silk Road’.  I will be starting in one of 3 cities: Venice in Italy, Istanbul in Turkey, or Jerusalem in Israel.  From there, I will move further East through the Caucuses countries of Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan which will then lead me on to Iran (maybe) and from there, the Stans such as Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Turkestan, Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan, and Kazakhstan.  From there I will head into the wilds of Mongolia and then south towards the Great Wall of China and then follow that East to the Chinese city of Xi’an.  I may deviate from that course and this trip may never end.  The Silk Road had a sea route into Southeast Asia so we could even end up there.

 

venice-italy
Venice, Italy.  The birthplace of Traveler, Marco Polo and possible first leg of our journey.

 

 

istanbul_600x225
Istanbul, Turkey.  Another possible first leg.

 

Since I was a child, I have always loved the stories of Genghis Khan and his creation of Pax Mongolica (Mongol Peace) which opened up the Silk Road and lead to the tales of Marco Polo and his meeting the Great Kublai Khan.  I want to follow in the footsteps of these great men, traders, merchants, warriors, and conquerors that shaped the ancient Eastern and partly the Western world as well.  I will ride on horses sometimes just like my Hungarian and Hancestorsestors that came from the East and I will ride camels just like Mr. Polo and company!  I’m sure though that most of the transportation will be pretty sketchy most of the time, but isn’t that the fun?  The best part is that you all get to come along with me into the unknown!  In cheap hostels, Couchsurfing, hopefully even into the felt tents of a nomadic Kyrgyz family, Airbnb, and other strange places!

 

samarkand
Samarkand, Uzbekistan.

 

unnamed-2d0ad790e0
The mountains of Kyrgyzstan.  Home to friendly nomadic families who will allow you stay-in-home with them!

 

 

I will be filming all of this and blogging it as well!  I have not seen anybody do what I am going to do in the way I am going to do it.  This may be the first time a vlogger has tried such a thing!  It may not be soon, but I know it will happen within the next five years (hopefully with your help).  Get ready for the adventure of a lifetime…  Get ready to RUNAWAY!!!  I will update all my fellow Runaways whenever I get more info and such into the project so stay tuned!

Travel well,

Steven Chavez

 

94119-004-38d8ce42
Xi’an, China.  Ancient Chinese capital and end of the Silk Road.

 


2 thoughts on “Expedition: Silk Road

  1. Keep dreaming Steven, set your goals & work toward them. When I was young I dreamed of travel too. God brought my dreams to fruition when He started me on short term Mission Trips. Been to many places that I didn’t even dream about going, but it’s all been great. Keep open to where God will lead your dreams. That’s true fulfillment!!

    *Keep Looking Up,* *Lorraine*

    * 828-243-4463″For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.’ ” Isaiah 41:13 *

    * “Sometimes God’s guidance doesn’t bring what was expected.”* http://www.enagic.com https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Bt1K1jIviU&feature=youtu.be

    “The anguish of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten.” — unknown

    “Fear = False Evidence Appearing Real”

    On Wed, Dec 28, 2016 at 5:02 PM, Expedition: Runaway wrote:

    > Expedition: Runaway posted: ” It is coming… Perhaps not soon, but it > is coming… Ladies and gentlemen! Welcome to my greatest dream and > proudest idea I have ever come up with! Let’s see if we can’t make this > happen! This is Expedition: Runaway’s new project: ‘Expedit” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment